DE
EN

Body Work

Our body determines what we need and where we go, what is good for us and how we feel - whether we are full of life and joy - or not. Our body is the “vessel” which contains our ‘self’, our personality.

Some of our problems are caused by the fact that we have lost contact with our bodies. We have accustomed to constricted breathing patterns and tensions (the hardening of muscles) and this confines us to a certain way of being in the world. We may even try to control our body, to ignore it or to use it like a machine.

Body work affects the biological basis of a physical or mental problem, that is to say on the breathing and on the feeling pattern.

• feel well and at home (again) in your physical self
• get a clear perception of your strengths and your limitations
• deal with stress and increasingly regain your inner equilibrium
• dissolve chronic tension and psychosomatic symptoms
• restore your natural and healthy breathing pattern
• get access to your second brain, your “gut-brain“, to work up suppressed feelings and to „digest“ them
• reactivate and improve your body’s innate ability of self-regulation
• to deal with your feelings adequately by using the vehicle of breath, muscle tonus and posture.


To my mind body work should be an integral part of each kind of therapy. As your mind dwells in your body – we are unable to view or to treat one without the other. It is our body where many formative experiences are stored and we do not find access to them by a sheer linguistic approach. The integration of both methods as I offer it, is usually called body therapy or body centered psychotherapy. For further information also see Approach.


The idea to include the body in therapeutic work may stimulate all kinds of fear, since it is likely to be associated with medical treatment or being 'ill'. It may seem strange and scary because it is unusual to intentionally involve the body at a stage where you already touch on delicate subjects anyway. You may also hold the view that the mind can or should be able to steer it all. Such a belief is usually averse to the potential and momentum of the body.

In practicing body therapy first of all I make sure whether you are ready for it and I greatly respect your possibilities as well as your limits. Body work is one possibility of many, it is an encouragement to expand your range of choices. Nothing will happen without your consent, and you are free to resort to the 'safe' linguistic level any time.
Body therapy can be aligned to your needs in order to guarantee the best possible support. This concerns the setting as well as the bodily intervention itself.

To begin with, the body is included in the therapeutic dialogue, while the client sits in his chair. When you are ready other settings are thinkable, we may work while you either stand on your feet, move around or lie on a mattress.

The basic step of any physical intervention is to concentrate on the perception of your body, to allow and support yourself to feel every part of your body, as it appears to you at the moment and to realize how every image in your mind is related to a physical sensation.

Further on we may take into account body language and body expression, by which we gather additional information on your inner way of experiencing. It may be helpful at times to deliberately implement your body language to express formative old experience to the end that it loses its restrictive power over you.

When you lie down on a mattress we may strengthen the perception of your body by touching, by choosing different positions and by working on those areas where tension has consolidated. By theses physical interventions we help to adjust your breathing pattern and thus improve your ability to relax and to cope with stress. If it is indicated to dissolve and to work up deep emotional tension there is a whole range of possibilities to deal with that including therapeutic touch and deep breathing.

Within the safe setting of an individual therapy we work with different elements of body-therapeutic interventions as described in the previous paragraph. The choice of interventions depends on your request, your degree of tension and your breathing pattern. Nonetheless language remains to be an important medium of communication and reflection.

On the basis of my longstanding experience I offer sessions of one hour, in which we (I and you) elaborate a basic diagnosis of your physical condition and of your developmental potential from the body therapeutic point of view. The purpose of this kind of body diagnosis is to get an idea of possible causes of your psycho-physical condition, of your existential orientation and your symptoms. This also gives a hint at methods of resolution and constitutes a basis of decision making for further therapeutic steps.

For answers concerning body therapy please feel free to contact me at office@pitzal.at

Contact

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

GTC

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

Location

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

Site Notice

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

deutsch

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

DE
EN

Körperarbeit


Unser Körper bestimmt, was wir brauchen und wohin wir gehen. Was uns guttut und was wir fühlen. Ob wir voller Vitalität, Antrieb und Lebensfreude sind – oder nicht. Unser Körper ist der Raum, in dem unser „Ich“, unsere Persönlichkeit lebt.

Ein Teil unserer Probleme wurzelt darin, dass wir den guten Kontakt mit unserem Körper verloren haben. Wir haben uns daran gewöhnt, mit einengenden Atemmustern und Verspannungen zu leben, die uns auf ein bestimmtes Erleben festlegen. Oder wir versuchen, unseren Körper zu beherrschen, zu ignorieren oder wie eine Maschine zu benutzen.

Körperarbeit wirkt an der biologischen Basis körperlicher und seelischer Probleme, speziell der Atem- und Gefühlsmuster.

• sich in Ihrem Körper wieder wohl und zuhause zu fühlen,
• ein klares Empfinden Ihrer Grenzen und Ihrer Kraft zu bekommen,
• mit wachsendem inneren Gleichgewicht besser mit Stress umgehen zu können,
• chronische Spannungen und psychosomatische Symptome aufzulösen,
• Ihr natürliches und daher gesundes Atemmuster wiederzufinden,
• Zugang zum „Bauchhirn“ zu bekommen und aufgestaute Gefühle zu verarbeiten und zu „verdauen“,
• die natürliche Fähigkeit Ihres Körpers zur Selbstregulation zu re-aktivieren und zu verbessern,
• über Ihre Atmung, Körperspannung und Körperhaltung einen guten Umgang mit Ihren Gefühlen zu entwickeln.

Körperarbeit ist meiner Ansicht nach ein integraler Bestandteil jeder Psychotherapie. Denn Ihre Psyche lebt in Ihrem Körper – man kann das eine nicht ohne das andere betrachten oder behandeln. Und viele prägende Erfahrungen sind vor allem körperlich gespeichert und über die Sprache allein gar nicht zugänglich. Die Integration beider Methoden, die ich anbiete, wird meist Körperpsychotherapie oder körperorientierte Psychotherapie genannt. Mehr dazu auch unter Arbeitsansatz.


Die Idee, den Körper in die Therapie mit einzubeziehen, löst oft Angst aus, weil sie eher mit ärztlicher Behandlung und daher mit Krankheit assoziiert wird. Oder weil es einfach fremd und ungewohnt ist, den Körper bewusst mit einzubeziehen, wenn man ohnehin schon an bewegenden Themen arbeitet. Oder weil man davon ausgeht, dass der Kopf alles steuern kann (oder können sollte), und mit der Kraft und Eigendynamik des Körpers nichts zu tun haben will.

In der Körpertherapie gehe ich daher immer von Ihrer jeweiligen Bereitschaft aus und arbeite mit besonders hohem Respekt vor Ihren Grenzen und Möglichkeiten. Körperarbeit ist immer eine Möglichkeit, eine Einladung, eine Erweiterung des Spektrums. Es passiert nichts ohne Ihre Zustimmung. Und Sie können in jedem Augenblick auf die „sicherere“ Sprachebene zurückkehren.

Körpertherapie kann sehr gut „dosiert“ werden, um bestmögliche Unterstützung zu bieten. Die Dosierung erfolgt einmal auf der Ebene des Settings, und zum zweiten auf der Ebene der Körperintervention.

Körperarbeit ist zunächst einfach ein Einbeziehen des Körpers in den therapeutischen Dialog, im Sitzen, im Rahmen des Gesprächs. Wenn Sie bereit dazu sind, kann auch in anderen Settings – im Stehen, in der Bewegung im Raum oder im Liegen auf der Matte – gearbeitet werden.

Im Spektrum der Körperinterventionen geht es zunächst um Körperwahrnehmung, um die Erlaubnis und Unterstützung, sich ganz zu spüren, so wie Sie gerade sind, und zu merken, wie jedes Bild in Ihrem Kopf mit einer Empfindung in Ihrem Körper verbunden ist.

Dann können wir Körpersprache und Körperausdruck einbeziehen, um über Ihre Ausdrucksbewegungen weitere Information über Ihr inneres Erleben zu bekommen. Manchmal ist es hilfreich, die Körpersprache bewusst zu nützen, um prägende alte Erfahrungen endlich so auszudrücken, dass sie ihre einschränkende Macht verlieren.

Im Liegen auf der Matte können wir über Berührung, Positionierung und Arbeit mit Spannungspunkten Ihre Körperwahrnehmung stärken, Ihr Atemmuster regulieren helfen und Ihre Fähigkeit zur Stressbewältigung und Entspannung verbessern. Wenn es für Sie um die Lösung und Aufarbeitung tiefer emotionaler Spannungen geht, gibt es zahlreiche weitere Möglichkeiten der Prozessarbeit mit Berührung und vertiefter Atmung.

In der geschützten Situation der Einzeltherapie arbeiten wir – Ihrem Anliegen und Ihren derzeitigen Körperspannungs- und Atemmustern entsprechend – mit verschiedenen Elementen der oben beschriebenen körpertherapeutischen Interventionen. Gleichzeitig bleibt natürlich die Sprachebene als Medium für Austausch und Reflexion wichtig.

Aufgrund meiner langjährigen Erfahrung biete ich an, im Rahmen einer einstündigen körpertherapeutischen Sitzung mit Ihnen gemeinsam eine Grunddiagnose Ihres körperlichen Zustands und Ihrer Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten aus dem Blickwinkel der Körpertherapie zu erstellen. Die Körperdiagnose dient zunächst der Orientierung über mögliche Ursachen körperlich-emotionaler Befindlichkeiten und Symptome. Weiters bietet sie erste Lösungsansätze und eine konkrete Entscheidungsgrundlage für eventuelle weitere therapeutische Schritte.

Für Körpertherapie-Anfragen erreichen Sie mich direkt unter office@pitzal.at

Kontakt

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

AGB

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

Lageplan

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

Impressum

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email

english

© 2014 Werner Pitzal • A-1140 Wien, Diesterweggasse 2/7 • +43 676 3138806 • email